20Something and Surviving

Apologies and Idiots

Okay.

So I realize that I’ve been coming across as some on the verge suicidal morose freak that has nothing good to add to the blogosphere. And I’m sorry. Well not really. But lately I’ve found myself apologizing for no reason. It seems to do the trick when trying to get people off your back. Or ending an argument. Will try it more often.

So as you can tell I’m currently at the top of this emotional roller coaster and I’m going to try to enjoy it whilst it lasts. I’m actually looking forward to the long weekend. It can only be better than last weekend.

For last long weekend I was in the midlands at this quaint (read: cheap) and cozy (read: small) establishment. It was freezing being a naturally cold-blooded animal that I am but then again I hardly felt the cold using my friend’s body heat to keep me warm. The cold was actually a bonus. Means we spend more time in bed. Things were going fine until the drive on the way back. I guess entering into a comfort zone of euphoria dulls the senses or one’s sensibilities. Issues were raised, voices were raised, things were discovered and I again felt the cold. (Read “frozen”).

But I’ve adopted my new outlook and trying out that apologizing for no reason trick and things are going fine. I think. For now.

Unfortunately unlike the rest of the population some of us have to work the two days during the week. Why didn’t the government just take to of the other unnecessary holidays and use them this week. Makes sense but then again Mr. Mbeki has his head in the sand at the moment so his mind is a bit fuzzed. That’s okay. What with crime, Mugabe and killer cops he has hi plate full.

Which reminds me. Last night I watched Street Kings. It was cheesy but good escapist fun. But there was this seen where the sleepy eyed guy that played Idi Amin goes on about Cops and the fact that they need benefits and how they control the city and so on. Gripping stuff. But it made me think during the post movie critic that I always have with my chums about our own cops on SA and the Corruption that goes on. It made me think about the minister’s remark about shooting to kill. Giving these same incompetent cops license to do such a thing.

I read Peas’ blog about how she was almost smash and grabbed. You forget Durban was the capital of such things. It happened to three of my varsity mates within the same month. I’ve been held up just as many times as the next guy. (What is this coming to when you can ay you have been attacked more than once and that not even seem bizarre?). And I think that the bastards should be castrated but I do not think that our cops (sic) are the people to do it.

Do they even know how to operate guns except to shoot their own families after being discovered for corruption? Can they even decipher what is a suspect? How many of them have caught one? To give these idiots such a huge responsibility is a huge mistake. It encourages vigilantism and stupidity.

But that’s not surprising. SA today is full of idiots.

April 30, 2008 Posted by | apologies, idiots, leez, midlands, street kings | 3 Comments