20Something and Surviving

Procrastinators Unite Tomorrow!!!

Things are a bit hectic this week.

Early on Monday morning I arrived to find a crisis. Not a good thing when you are still experiencing post hangover blues.

The weekend was fantastic and I promise, promise, promise to fill in the details when I have time. Which I don’t have at the moment. Compounding my problem is the prospect of Graduation plus the onslaught of finishing my Research project.

I don’t know what possessed me to think I could handle a full time job, full time studies and even try to have a semblance of a social life and manage it all. Some can. You know those people. They have their whole lives detailed in little notebooks and don’t freak out at the first sign of a hiccup but rather resort to plan B. And they have a detailed contingency plan B. My plan B usually has to go to Plan C that is usually made up as I go along.

I’m a serial procrastinator when it comes to the not so important things and then those same things become important things. Luckily I’ve been trained to work under tight deadlines.

My mind is swirling and despite my best efforts I’m consumed with the trivial. One of my friends recently decided to do cut her off totally form all type of electronic or technological communication. Unless it was the landline at work she would have nothing to do with it. Part of her religion or something. Anyway the aim was to hold out for 21 days and then she would have conquered her mini technology obsession/ addiction.

I saw something on Oprah, yes I watch Oprah, about it taking 21 days to break a habit so maybe I will try. Wait. No I won’t. I couldn’t survive the two weeks my Cellphone had t go in for repairs and I freak when the server goes down so I’m not going to intentionally make my self go insane.

Rather I will just cut out any social networking during 8 to 5 and do some actual work. Only a month to go and then I’m free. Cape Town here I come!!!

I’m also working on the site as I go along. I’m still playing around with the colours and themes and all that other stuff. Technology is not my friend even though I’ve tried to make peace countless times. Enjoy the week and will chat soon.

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | apologies, finals, jobs, leez, procrastinators

8 Comments »

  1. wah! and you know how i removed my facebook. dammit leez its LIBERATING!!!

    Comment by c@th | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m not going to remove Facebook. How else will I know my friends’ constant state of mind? Their status messages keep me informed if not embarrassed at times.

    Comment by leez | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. hehehe.

    Comment by c@th | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. I’ve even been sucked in by all the tech stuff.

    It started off as just blogging, then facebook and now I’m even twittering!

    Comment by MsBehavn | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’m close to deleting Facebook.. don’t you find it gets a bit boring? However, couldn’t live without my mobile – not that I make many calls but hey.

    Hope work eases up a bit 🙂

    Comment by SwissTwist | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. Bru, you watch Oprah????????

    Comment by Ches | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  7. ooi, you oprah-watching-social-networking graduate, you okay?

    Hope your weekend is restful!

    Comment by SwissTwist | May 30, 2008 | Reply

  8. Before I even start to reply lets get something straight…

    Oprah is going to adopt me one day so there will be no bad mouthing of that insanely rich and powerful woman. that said, yes I do watch Oprah. if I’m awake and theres nothing better on.

    I just got back and my facebook is surprisingly full. I was cut off form technology not by choice but drunkeness and illness.

    But I’m back 🙂

    Comment by leez | June 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

