20Something and Surviving

Monday Moan

So I’m like the only person in my department at work that decided to pitch up today.

Seriously. The rest were all clever enough to listen to that voice that screams inside your head in the mornings telling you NO!! Do Not get up! Its not worth it.

The worst part is that I feel like crap myself and now I’m supposed to invent reasons to people as to why no work has been done. I say invent becuase the truth is just so surreal to some. Not satisfied with the usual “she’s sick today and so has decided to take her first day off in almost a year”, I now have to resort to blatant lies: “she’s just come back from the Congo and has contracted malaria… yes she was on work business… no, I don’t know whats the Doctor’s prognosis. Please send an email. She is responding to emails.

And thats the Cracker. These fucking people are sitting at home or wherever supposedly on the verge of freakin death but still have the energy to send me bloody emails! If your head feels so bad, why email me with your shit so that I develop a headache? Who the fuck do you think I am? Do I look like freaking Ms. Admin Extraordinairre to you? Thats not my job. Never was.

Anyway the weekend was fine, nothing spectacular. The problem with living in a smallish city like my own is that everyone seems to know each other or of each other and so when meeting someone for the first time you would probably know at least some of their history just by their name. Not cool. Especially if you have matured a bit yet no one seems to want to get past one particualr incident. The only consolation is that you have similar incidents in your artillery to strike back with.

I’ve become quite an expert at delivering teeth gnashing, cheek blushing memoirs with a deadpan stare and innocent smile.

Works all the time. Seriously.

June 9, 2008 - Posted by | flu, pissed, winter, work

4 Comments »

  1. Ha ha…1 person gets sick and they all start to fall like donimo’s! Whether they sick or not, they always blame it on the first guy…he’s a walking excuse not to go to work!

    Comment by Ches | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. The problem is I am that first guy.

    Thats the reason they have no qualms about leaving me in the deep end. Day Two.

    Comment by leez | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Dammit the bastards!

    I think the whole world stayed home this weekend.

    smallish city? yeah., i know. im intrigued by all the hot gossip i hear about myself on a daily basis!

    X

    Comment by c@th | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. Smallish may be an exaggeration when compared to some but yes; to me this city seems small. Or maybe I just need to find new watering holes. I don’t know.

    Comment by leez | June 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

