20Something and Surviving

Its Raining, its pouring…

Okay, most of us should know that rhyme we all used to sing to alleviate boredom but which usually just ended up depressing us further. I’m actually singing “rain, rain go away. Come again another day” in hopes that this weather clears before tomorrow.
Why tomorrow? Because after four years of working myself into what is surely going to be an early grave I am finally going to graduate!! *sigh of relief*

This past week has been hectic with me scrambling to get in work on time and still hold down a full time job where no one decides to pitch. Any study leave I had was consumed by my three days off for a throat infection but I survived.

Can’t wait until tomorrow. Mom has flown in to see her baby boy finally walk up those stairs relieving her of the notion that I was wasting her money. Which reminds me of one of the other reasons I’m so excited for Grad. Prezzies. And lots of them. Preferably cash. Or anything that can be exchanged for cash.

Anyway, really had a great long weekend. Long time bud of mine decided to actaully take the plunge this year and entered the Comrades so we decided to show him some support and camped on the side of the road. Yes it was just an excuse to have a drinks party but the spirits actually helped insulate our bods from the cold.

Another highlight was a visit from my current mild obsession. Had fun.

Wish me luck. And pray that I don’t trip.

June 18, 2008 - Posted by | Graduation, leez

4 Comments »

  1. Congrats Dude…

    If the comrades is an excuse to booze and party, then graduation is a proper excuse to get effing smashed! Enjoy!

    Comment by Ches | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on graduating!!!¨
    I could get all philosophical about the road ahead and blah blah blah!! but instead, enjoy the relief of not having to study (even for a bit) and revel in being free (again, even for a bit!)

    Show pictures, and let us know how it went!!

    Comment by SwissTwist | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Congrats on your graduation, leez.

    I watched the Comrades from the comfort of my couch this year. I did have delusions of running it but that passed (thank someone’s god!) Maybe I’ll have another go next year …

    Comment by MsBehavn | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ches: Thanks Dude. But its gonna be more of a civilised dinner with the folks and sundry. 😦

    Swiss: There is no such relief for me. The problem with taking a year off is that you have to return to the work. This is grad for my degree and I’m still doing post grad in order to do the whole making my parents proud thing again next year. Will post definitely post pics sans faces. 🙂

    Msbehavn: We all have those delusions. At least you’ve given up smoking so should you actually do something about it you have a better chance than the rest of us.

    Still excited!! I neeed to grow up. soon.

    Comment by leez | June 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

