20Something and Surviving

I love you, You love me…

There’s a reason I strongly dislike Kids or the thought of actually having any of my own and on Saturday I was reminded of that fact.

Its not the fear of having such an enormous responsibilty of having to care for another mini human being or any of that grown up stuff one has to confront when one has a mini critter crawling around. Kids are needy but isn’t everyone?

Children are cute until they learn how to walk and talk.

Okay Saturday was a day filled with screaming kids, jumping castles, slip slides and more sugar than is legal for those vertically challenged offspring and their parents.

The birthday boy himself, all of one year old, stood there on shakiy legs gurgling his delight at the sparkly candles on the cake.

After dropping off my large purple dinosaur I retreated to find some like minded souls and found them in a corner drnking their adult juice.

Was fun but I’m in no hurry to have any of my own.

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | kids, party

10 Comments »

  1. Yes, kids are needy and a massive, life-long responsibility …

    I’ve never really been a “kid person”, not one of those born-to-be-a-mother types, but when I had my own … I fell in love with them =)

    I think in this day an age, it’s wise to wait until you’re older and wiser to have kids … the world is a difficult place, people are so busy, families are falling apart left, right and center. you need to be very sure of yourself and your commitment to raising and nurturing another human being before you bring them into the world.

    So don’t be in hurry.

    My 2 cents’ worth =)

    Comment by justBcoz | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. …Barney touched me on my @#%!! It started with a nik and ended with a paddy whack. Now he’s got me smoking crack!’

    Dude, my niece is a rockstar…but other than that, others people’s kids can be serious vermin!

    Comment by Ches | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Why oh Why did you have to give the kid a Barney. I’m trying to get him banned (or killed if possible)!

    If I ever have kids of my own, Barney will not be allowed.

    Comment by Glugster | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. JustB: Unlike every toher 24 year old I know I really don’t want to have a mini me running around. So no worries.

    Ches: I can barely stand My own nephew or godson for that matter. Once they got past nine months, it was over.

    Glugs: At the suggestion of sheena, cath and everyone else I asked, Barney is apparently a huge hit with tots. And I’m glad I listened coz it was hit. this toy played the tune!!! dude. freaky.

    Comment by leez | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. barney is so cool, i heart him ūüôā

    you didn’t jump on the jumping castle!??? that is SO much fun LOL

    Comment by sweets | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. So do Millions of other kids out there.

    We’ve tried the Jumping castle thing but different kid, different party. The thing about having so many friends experiencing a baby boom simultaneously means they all have the bloody same birthday parties.

    We got on the Castle whilst the kids were eating cake or something and after we had consumed more than a little and needless to say an ambulance was called. Fun times.

    Comment by leez | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  7. I want to have a mini me running around but not for another 10 years! I adore children and definitely want my own I just couldn’t handle the idea of having them now.

    “Unlike every toher 24 year old I know I really don’t want to have a mini me running around” – which 24 year olds? I know very few that want their own running around NOW!!!

    Comment by The Divine Miss M | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  8. Wait – you ended up having to call an ambulance?! How come you didn’t tell us that part of the story, Leez? I bet that must’ve scared the crap out of the kids! LOL

    Comment by MsBehavn | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. Miss M: you are in the minority. Almost everyone I’ve known since we were teenagers has suddenly decided to get married and/or have babies.

    MsB: It was at another 1 year old party. Cant remeber whos, all the kids are the same to me.

    there were about 7 of us “grown ups” on the jumping castlr and things got out of hand. This chick discovered jumping and holding a botltle in your one hand aint such a good idea. *jump, jump, crunch* sprained the good wrist.

    Comment by leez | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  10. Sheesh you must come from a small town!

    My friends are DEFINITELY not wanting to have kids!!

    Comment by The Divine Miss M | July 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

