20Something and Surviving

Feisty Fashionistas

It was brutal. The menace in their eyes sent cold shivers through me. The hunger was palpable and the smell of desperation evident in the air. The two urban warriors resplendent in the armour, which conveyed the current trend, eyed each other up. Both eyes locked on to their object on desire and then in quick flash both pounced vowing not to surrender, even if the outcome was death. Or a broken Fingernail.

Reading that paragraph one may think (Or I hope) that I was describing a medieval battle or at the very least Saturdays Tri Nations Match, but alas, No. That seen is just one of many that I bemusedly witnessed at yesterday’s YDE R75 sale. My amusement quickly turned to shock and horror at the downright disturbing behaviour of some.

Being the great friend that I am, I awoke at the crack of Dawn early Sunday morning and accompanied C to the sale. Parking on the first level I could already sense her anticipation. She gets this look in her eyes every time we go shopping and today that fire blazed brightly. We arrived a few minutes after 8 and that was a few minutes too late. Inside was a feeding frenzy as the store buzzed with dudes and dudettes high on the rush of a sale. Most surprising though was the behaviour of the men. As I approached the heaving mass that was the men’s department I was struck between the similarities between these heaving men and the ruck during a rugby match. Supposedly gentleman elbowed and kicked at each other to attain usually overpriced shirts and pants.

In the women’s department ladies formed groups and hogged shelves, reserving psychedelic creations to try on later. Many a bitchy remark was heard being exchanged amongst the patrons. We limped to the queue and waited for an hour witnessing blossoming romances between strangers and new enemy lines being drawn by friends.

As I collapsed in a booth at the local wimpy, ignoring C’s protestations as I dragged on a fag and sipped my espresso I reflected on the mornings happenings.

It took a total of 1 hour and 15 minutes to complete our shopping 60-minute of those in a line and we actually survived. I entertained thoughts of returning to my bed and sleeping the day off. No chance though. Its sale season C informs me and with one final drag we’re off to fit in as much as we can before being joined for lunch by our sane friends.

Good times.

July 28, 2008 - Posted by | fashionistas, never again

2 Comments »

  1. you are such a metro man 🙂
    i don’t do sales, i love my nails too much!

    Comment by Stef | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lol. Okay. As for metro, with two chick best friends I have no choice but to be.

    Comment by leez08 | July 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

