20Something and Surviving

Come Into My Parlour Said The Spider To The Fly….

 

 For well she knew the silly fly would soon come back again …

 

So I’m going about my business and really trying to keep my head above water coz I feel like I’m drowning in the sea that is my workload. Thursday is meeting day and after I stumbled out of my third meeting before twelve, I pop back into the office. I have two more to go so I’m keeping a smile on my face. All this extra work must mean a promotion is pending. I hope. Snort!! I wish.

 

I check my mails quickly and suddenly the face of my week has changed drastically. My heart soars, I’m elated and just as suddenly I feel extremely guilty and disgusted at myself. The message stands there like a white elephant, whilst I try my best to ignore it by responding to other correspondence. Every few seconds my eyes drift back to the subject line and the name listed there. My heart races a bit faster and I try to quell the excitement that’s boiling in me. Its just one word, one name that’s got me in such a state. M.

 

Clicking on the item I read the one line that appears before me and I’m stunned. These simple words leaving me suddenly breathless. It reads:

 

Hi Leez, How are you. Are you single? M…

My fingers itch to respond. I want to lie. I want to insult. I want to tell the truth. Instead I do what I always do: avoid the subject. Select. Delete.

 

But I’m still left wondering.

July 31, 2008 - Posted by | leez | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Dude, why?

    Although, would have done the same…

    …just depends how long you’re left wondering for?

    Comment by Ches | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. Because I’m afraid of what I may do.. Fuck.. been watching way too much Oprah. gonna send an email back just saying hi. But tomorrow. Do not want to seem desperate.

    Comment by leez08 | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. do it do it and keep us updated!

    Comment by cathjenkin | August 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. delete it
    forget her
    you’re just looking for trouble responding to her email…
    but then again… what if right 😉

    Comment by Stef | August 4, 2008 | Reply

  5. No risk, no reward hey?

    🙂

    Comment by justBcoz | August 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

