20Something and Surviving

Blogger Beginnings

I’ve decided to enter Shebee’s comp just because of the possibility of that jaw dropping prize. I think anyone who has read my blog (all three of you, you know who you are) or has IMed me on gtalk (again you know who you are) knows mostly about why I started blogging. But here goes again.

What / who brought you to blogging:

A long, long time ago… No, not that long ago. I was freaking out as I have a tendency to do over a decent research project topic to submit for my course. Currently I’m a full time student whilst working full time and trying to have a semblance of a social life. I did what everyone else on the planet does- Googled- and came up with an array of topics finally settling on something to do with Social networking and forums … and through all this Blogging came out and Google once again provided me with the answer.

I’d read blogs before but they were all those industry or technical ones that just really did not capture my imagination. I clicked on to the Blogger awards just after they were announced, skimmed over the boring ones and my eyes finally rested upon something I found appealing. Or rather not so appealing coz it was this but the title did capture my imagination. The blog is still a fav.

I lurked blogs for a few more weeks finally brought up the courage and blogged. It helped that at this time the shit was starting to hit the fan regarding M (the ex) and I and coz wisely my friends were never fond of her to begin with I decided to just publicise it.

Even if no one read it. I knew that it was out there.

Yawn. If you’re still with me, thanks for the loyalty.

What you get out of it for yourself

For me blogging is a completely cathartic experience. I did not start blogging with an ulterior motive. I didn’t even think I would even continue pas the first post but blogging has become a sort of personal shrink. At least in the beginning.

Through blogging I am able to put down my thoughts and feelings something that I’m unable to do when with my so-called loved ones. The anonymity of blogging allows me to be as honest and true as I can be. I’ve been through a lot of shit, which I thought I had dealt with but I’m finding there is never really a quick fix. With blogging I get to have my voice out there and to have different soundboards all with their own take on things to help guide me in the right direction.

If you have a theme / process you follow when blogging and why

I don’t really have a specific theme. But theoretically my blog revolves around the trials and tribulations of a typical 20something. Apparently whilst in one’s twenties you undergo a transformation and start doubting your self, friends, family and priorities. This is called a Quarter life Crisis, which is apt as that’s how I feel most of the time. See 2 for the solution to this.

But I mostly blog when I’m feeling really low or high or even if I just have a spare ten minutes which is rare these days. I blog because I like it. Not because I want others to like it.

Your standards on blogging, if you draw a line at writing about any particular thing.

I’ve only been blogging for a few months- so No, I really have no issues. Everything is fair game. Love, Life, sex, drugs, racism and depression. There’s nothing I haven’t gone through and if it comes up and I feel passionate about it then I will blog about it.

The beauty of being an anonymous blogger (anonymous to everyone except C@th my stalker) is that I can write anything and not have to worry about being judged.

 

The best thing to come of your blogging thus far

I’ve been warned about going on about meeting new friends, making contacts and all the other arb stuff so…

The best thing about blogging is that feeling of relief and satisfaction when you see a comment. It means that someone, anyone was interested enough to leave a comment. Whether it be good or bad, thoughtful or insensitive, eloquent or crude.

I’m a new blogger so I don’t know if my blog has benefited anyone but it has benefited the most important person: Me. Leez.

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | leez |

7 Comments »

  1. Hey Leez … I’m still with you =)

    I can relate to this, except for the 20-something part I guess … does that make mine a third life crisis??

    And I love that everything is fair game for you, that you’re willing to write about ANYTHING!

    SHOOT! I still need to enter SheBee’s competition myself!!

    Comment by justBcoz | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. hey i am also a new blogger, and this blog will benefit many other blogger, starting by me!

    Comment by herliando | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. cool post Leez!!

    so glad your stupid blog vacation is finally over! sheesh…

    🙂

    Comment by Stef | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. JustB: Its called midlife… (tongue firmly in cheek). And the only reason its fair game is becasue of the anonymity which is still a contested issue in blogospheres.

    Herliando: Cool Name and welcome.

    Stef: Its not over… the fat lady hasn’t sung yet.

    Comment by leez08 | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  5. We like your blog. Stick around, mmmk?

    Comment by Tamara | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  6. Yip, you definately turned into a blogger, if getting a comment exites you! Hehehe. We all are comment sluts, even if we don’t admit it.

    Comment by Glugster | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  7. Tam: Will try.

    Glugster: I live for a comment. But I myself am guilty of being a lurker and not commenting. And having to put in those letters before posting a comment is too much for my lazy ass.

    Comment by leez08 | August 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

