20Something and Surviving

Another One Bites The Dust

 Last week whilst everyone was preparing for the Rugby I was getting ready for yet another Wedding. Yay me. Yet another reminder that I’m in the minority when it comes to the prospects of nuptials.

Don’t get me wrong, I fully intended to go and watch what I, foolishly, thought would be the humiliation of the Ozzies but first I had to do the wedding dance first.
Yes, the bride does look lovely. Yes, I should find me a decent girl to settle down with. No, these chancers won’t fool me. Yes, One of these days I will also be standing up there shitting my pants realising I may have made a monumental mistake. Uhuh, nod, smile, sip. Fuck it. Gulp.

This time the lucky oke is someone I went to school with and it made me realise how much we’ve all changed. Not just physically, which btw came as quite a shock- how is possible that men gain so much weight after finding their “life partner”? – But also the sudden maturity that comes out of nowhere. Guys who wouldn’t think twice about getting supremely wasted and doing asinine things like mooning a couple of pensioners are now behaving like… ADULTS!!!!

I read somewhere that more and more South Africans are deciding to take the plunge and tie the knot. It also says that although the divorce rate had decreased most divorces resulted from first marriages. Hmm… And just to make me feel better, more men are getting married later in life. So I’m not completely alone after all.

Anyway, left the church and went to Rugby which was a waste of time but still drank with a couple of mates from Oz ( yes migration in reverse does occur occasionally), having to admit that we were thrashed royally.

This weekend I’m off the hook as there are no weddings but there is a major Bday coming up and there are heavy hints of a possible proposal… can’t wait  😦

L

August 28, 2008 - Posted by | friends, leez | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Yussie my boy.

    Where were you guys sitting at the rugga? I walked right up to level six to see the atmosphere up there. Also, to spy on bloggers I knew were there *wink*.

    I can’t believe the amount of youngins getting hitched. My two best friends are both married with kids, and three other mates all heading that way. I think I’m about the only girl in my school year who isn’t in a hectic relationshit.

    I’m too young! Leave me alone!

    Comment by shebee | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Dude, you’ve become a weekend blogger!

    How poor was that rugga?

    Comment by Ches | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. if you are still not married when you’re 40, start getting worried THEN… that’s in 17 years right?!

    if you got married now you will be divorced in 5 years, guaranteed 🙂

    Comment by Stef | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. Shebee: All I’m saying is that we had great um.. seats. Parkign was a bitch though specially as we had to come a bietjie late due to the nuptials.

    Ches: The Rugga was embarrassing. I still have no words to describe the humiliation. Lots of liquor was needed to erase that painful memory. Not a wken blogger, just really busy but hopefully things will be sorted soon.

    Stef: Maybe evn less than 5. I don’t have commitment issues, which is just some term made up by men that means I just want to sleep with you nothing else, But if I’m forty and unmarried then I will have to seriously evaluate my priciples.

    Comment by leez08 | August 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

